For instance a relaxation app is able to continue playing sound but save battery power with the screen off.So, locking your phone is actually more like “display sleep” on your Mac (⌃⇧⏏ or Control-Shift-Eject for those of you who can’t read Macroglyphics).The big issue with this method, though is that if the router that you’re currently connected to isn’t in the Skyhook database, you’re out of luck.

And something I recently noticed after updgrading to the newest i Phone OS is that when you now click the Home button while already on the Home screen, it’ll quickly take you to the first page of apps.

This is a great feature if you have your phone filled with apps… In the Mail app and many others that use lists of items, you’re able to quickly delete an item by swiping your finger across the item… Doing so exposes a Delete button so that you’re able to confirm your action.

For a while, I was under the false impression that locking the phone was equivalent to putting your Mac to sleep.

But when your phone is locked, the screen turns off but the app that’s running at the time continues to run.

This may be the most convenient, yet hidden feature on the i Phone.

I had my phone for months before stumbling upon it (and I didn’t even stumble upon it by playing around with the phone, but by reading the programming documentation on scroll views).Even our team members that I showed the draft of this post to (people I consider i Phone experts), all picked up at least a tip or two that they weren’t already aware of. Tapping the status bar (the bar at the top with the clock) will make scrollable content scroll to the top.It comes in handy in situations like when you’ve scrolled down a long web page or mail message and you quickly need to get back to the top.And finally, if your phone seems to be completely frozen where attempting to turn it off or force quit the current app does nothing, you can force a reset of your phone by pressing both the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons for at least ten seconds.Note that while Apple technically calls this a “reset”, it’s actually more like a “reboot” and none of your settings will be changed.As with taking screenshots, the image will get stored in the “Saved Photos” library of the Photos app. This one’s actually somewhat intuitive but I was surprised by how many people aren’t aware of it.